Home Page
Welcome to

Wolvercote Primary School

Home Page
Welcome to

Wolvercote primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Principles and Curriculum

There are four themes and principles that underpin early years practice. These are illustrated below...

The Early Years Curriculum comprises of 7 main areas of 'Learning and Development'. Within these areas, there are different 'Aspects', with 17 aspects in all. These are illustrated in the table below...



The Wolvercote Early Years Handbook - For Parents and Carers


Parent and Carer Welcome Meetings 

Picture 1 Reception Lion Dance for Chinese New Year

We use the Penpals handwriting programme which supports children to form letters effectively. 
The letters are grouped into four 'letter Families' known as...
-The Curly Caterpillars
- The Long Legged Giraffes
-The One Armed Robots
-The Zig-Zag monsters

What to Expect, When?
Guidance to your child's learning and development in the early years foundation stage.
By 4Children
Supported by the Department for Education



For more information about the Early Years, please go to the Nursery and Reception class pages by clicking on the links below.